Skip to main content
Climate Action

Cooperation with non-EU countries & regions

The EU works closely with other countries and regions to advance dialogue and cooperation on climate change.

Climate action is an integral part of the EU's foreign policy agenda. Through climate diplomacy and cooperation initiatives, the EU aims to build political will and trust to advance global action, ensure the effectiveness of development cooperation, and build capacity to support partner countries in their efforts.

Areas of cooperation


These include:


The Commission has bilateral arrangements with key partners and works with a number of regional organisations:

  • OECD countries – e.g. US, Canada, Japan, Australia
  • Other UNFCCC Annex I countries – e.g. Russia, Ukraine
  • Emerging economies – e.g. Brazil, China, India, South Africa, South Korea
  • Regional groupings – e.g. African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries, African Ministerial Conference on the Environment (AMCEN), Asia Europe Meeting (ASEM), Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN), Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), Latin American and Caribbean (LAC) countries, Organisation of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC)